International Driver's License in Egypt

International Driver's License In Egypt

Apply Now For Your International Driver's License In Egypt

If you are planning for a trip to Egypt to soak in the spectacularly beautiful landscape filled with cultural gems, make sure you have an International Driver’s License (IDL). The law of Egypt requires international visitors to have a valid International Driver’s License in order to rent a car and legally drive in Egypt. All visitors must make it a point to acquire an International Driver’s License in their home country or country of residence before they travel. Having this crucial piece of document implies that you hold a valid driver’s license in your country of residence. This document will shield you and your family against any untoward incident, such as an accidental and/or vehicle damage while driving overseas, or the loss of legal identification such as a passport.

The IDL is recognized all over the world. It basically is a translation of your government issued driver's license into eight languages (English, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Russian, French, Arabic and Chinese) in order to help travelers overcome language barriers. It is equally important for nationals and residents (of Egypt) who wish to drive abroad to apply for an International Driver’s License.

There’s no question about the fact that laws vary between countries, but one thing that is consistent is an International Driver’s License from that will help you rent a car and drive vehicles abroad, no matter the country. Reputable car rental agencies will ask for an International Driver’s License before they rent you a vehicle. IDL Worldwide can help you get your IDL in a matter of a few hours so that you are never in a fix when abroad (whether you are traveling for business or for a road trip).

Steps to Apply for an International Driving License:

Applying for an international driving license in Egypt is simple but extremely essential if you want to drive as a tourist. Follow these quick and easy steps to apply for your international driving license.

1. It is best to do it online in view of the current situation the world is in, so head to a credible online portal.

2. Upload all the required documents on the site.

3. At IDL Worldwide, requests are processed within 24 hours. For any query, our customer service representatives can be reached at 732-851-3636. Monday-Friday- 8 am-4 pm.

Documentation Needed:

  • For an online application, you will have to fill up an application form, upload your photo, signature and a copy of your native driver's license.
  • For mail applications, download the application, fill it out completely and sign it.  Include your color photo, copy of your native driver's license and your payment.

Photos from passport, driver's license or any other form of an ID aren’t accepted.

These are the countries that require an IDL for visitors to drive vehicles on their land:


Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Aguila, Angola, Antigua, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde Islands, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Congo Dem Rep., Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Curacao, Cyprus, Czech Republic


Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France & French Overseas Depts., French Polynesia


Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Gabon, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy


Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Rep.), Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg


Macao, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Oman


Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal (including Madeira & the Azores), Qatar, Russia, Romania, Rwanda


San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, St Kitts & Nevis, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay


Vatican City, Venezuela, Windward Islands, Zambia, Zimbabwe